Blogger Widgets

Reviews to come

There was an error in this gadget

Blog Archive

Books listed by series

Dawn's Current Lust

Jennifer Armentrout

Sweet Peril

Sweet Peril
April 30th 2013

Death's Angel

Death's Angel
December 21st 2012

Fury Of Seduction

Fury Of Seduction
November 13th 2012

Gates Of Paradise

Gates Of Paradise
January 15th 2012

Blood- Kissed Sky

Blood- Kissed Sky
December 26th 2012

Days of Blood & Starlight

Days of Blood & Starlight
November 6th 2012

Iced

Iced
October 30th 2012

A Circle of Seven Series

A Circle of Seven Series
December 4th 2012
Powered by Blogger.
Thursday, May 31

Darkness Before Dawn Darkness Before Dawn # 1 By J.A. London





Title: Darkness Before Dawn
Author: J.A. London
Series: Darkness Before Dawn # 1
Publisher: HarperCollins           
Paperback: 342
Publication Date: May 29th 2012
This electrifying new trilogy blends the best of paranormal and dystopian storytelling in a world where the war is over. And the vampires won.Humans huddle in their walled cities, supplying blood in exchange for safety. But not even that is guaranteed. Dawn has lost her entire family and now reluctantly serves as the delegate to Lord Valentine, the most powerful vampire for miles. It isn’t until she meets Victor, Valentine’s son, that she realizes not all vampires are monsters....Darkness Before Dawn is a fresh new story with captivating characters, unexpected plot twists, a fascinating setting, and a compelling voice. Written under the name J. A. London by a talented mother-son team, the trilogy is perfect for fans of True Blood and the House of Night and Morganville Vampires series.
The World
The original vampires, known as the Old Family, have walked the earth for thousands of years. Always in shadows, always blending in with their human counterparts, taking blood and leaving behind only myths and legends. But in the twentieth-century, they made themselves known—for reasons still not understood. At first, they were seen as an anomaly, a mutation, a sickness that needed our understanding and sympathy.
But then everyone wanted to join them, longing for the immortality that they held. One by one, people were turned. Eventually, the world governments took action, quarantining vampires, treating them as second-class citizens that had to be controlled lest they gain the upper hand.
It was too late. War was already approaching, and when it came, the Old Family unleashed their armies of vampires. It took thirty long years of bloodshed, but in the end, the vampire’s fear of the sun was nothing compared to their strength and resilience in the trenches.
The VampHu treaty was signed, and all humans were placed within walled cities, each one massive, but cut off from the rest of the world; each one watched over by an Old Family Lord. Humans are never allowed to leave the city, and vampires never allowed to enter. At least, that’s how it was suppose to be … Even the strongest walls have cracks, some that run into the very foundation upon which this new society was built. 

There are whispers of change, but they're just whispers. For now
- J.A London
***
Darkness before Dawn was nothing I expected. I didn’t know what I was expecting, but in the end, I am so glad I picked up this book.
This book is a mix of post-apocalyptic/dystopian and PNR. It had twists and turns and it was action packed! Even though this book’s setting was post war, a 30 years war, I believe the worst war between human vs. Vampires is on the horizon and is yet to come. Our heroine, Dawn is the new human vampire delegate. She is only seventeen and she had to fill in the huge shoes her parents left behind after they were murdered. Though Dawn hates vampires, she believes in her parents and tries to help the new world the only way she knows how… then she meets Victor Valentine and everything changes. Victor the debonair, fascinating, dangerous vampire happened to be at the right place at the right time. He saved Dawn’s life literally! But he didn’t tell Dawn that he is one of the creatures she hates, worst he is the son of Lord M. Valentine, AKA “Bloody Valentine” an all around Evil. Victor is exceptionally kind, and he protects Dawn at his own risk.  Meanwhile Dawn starts to understand that maybe not all Vampires are monsters! This story was well written; it has so much depth that I don’t think I can fully put this story into words. Romance aside, Victor has big dreams for vampires and human, he clearly sees that both humans and vampires need each other and I am so curious to see if his dreams will be fulfilled in the end. Darkness before Dawn was slow building yet it had a fiery conclusion. The mysteries, and suspense are to die for and I am utterly hooked! Darkness Before Dawn is a tale that will captivate you because it has an additive quality to it… I wonder what happens next!
I love the world J.A. London and her son has created! The way they wove this story is thrilling in a way that you can’t help but feel what our characters are going through! Vampires and Humans… alike! WOW! What an ending! A new Honcho is in town! I can’t wait until book two is released I am super curious.






Title: Blood -Kissed Sky
Author: J.A. London
Series: Darkness Before Dawn # 2
Publisher: HarperCollins           
Paperback: 368
Publication Date: December 2012

There's nowhere left to hide.
I thought vampires were our enemies - they controlled our lives, isolated our cities, and demanded our blood - until I met Victor. With Victor taking over as the new Lord Valentine, things were supposed to get better. Instead, they're worse than ever.
 Day Walkers, a new breed of vampires who can walk in the sun, are terrorizing the city. Blood supplies are low, and if Victor's vampires don't get enough, they will become infected with the Thirst - a disease that will turn them into mindless killers.  To stop it, I must journey across the desolate wasteland to the very place where the sickness began. I can only hope that the answers that await me are enough to save us all . . . before it's too late.

0 comments:

Translate Our Reviews!!!

CYBER STALK US!!!!

Facebook Twitter Goodreads Email Me! Rss Google +

Grab Our Button

Follow by Email

Martini's

Networked Blogs

Linky Buddies

My Blog Designer

Memberships

Netgalley